Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (2022)

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10

Resolution In ProgressTop 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (1)

Ray of Boerne, TX Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 8, 2022

I have travelled with OAT several times pre pandemic and was very satisfied. This past April I booked a trip to Scotland, Ireland, and Iceland. I used their airfare and pickup service in Scotland. Upon arrival at Scotland airport, we were not picked up and had to get to hotel on our own. I have emailed and called several times experiencing three hour wait times asking for a refund for lack of airport pickup. Finally got through on the phone and they took down the information two weeks ago and said management would call me to discuss. I have not been contacted. This company has changed from pre pandemic, and their excellent service has become terrible. I may use them again, but not for a couple of years to see if they have changed. Very disappointing. Be careful when booking a trip with them since they do not seem to have their act together and you do not want to be stranded at a foreign airport.

Overseas Adventure Travel response

We’re sorry to hear about your recent difficulty in reaching us. According to our records, our Traveler Services team has connected with you on the issues you mentioned here. Thank you for your patience!

13 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (2)

caroline of Hamburg, NY Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 28, 2022

2020 trip canceled due to Covid. 2021 added trip extension 2095 dollars. Trip then canceled due to Covid. July 2021 spoke to Courtney. I was told I’d have a refund in 50-60 days. ***Never received refund. Called early in 2021 regarding refund. At this time I did say to hold my money as I’ll just go on a 2023 trip. And, to please have management call me regarding Courtney not putting through my refund. I was told management would contact me by the following week. No contact from management.

I called OAT 6/16/22, spoke with Evitte and she said I’d hear from OAT within 2 weeks regarding status of refund. NEVER HEARD So called 6/28/22, got Faith management. A refund certificate was issued on 5/28/21. Once a refund certificate is issued you can’t get a refund. I NEVER okayed keeping my money in 2021. OAT did not make policy clear on 2022 when I did say to hold my money. At that time I thought I would be traveling with them in 2023. I would have NEVER waived my rights to a refund.

Overseas Adventure Travel response

Please accept our apologies for your frustrating experience. Our records show that we have resolved your issue to your satisfaction. Thank you for your patience!

(Video) GROUP TOURS : what you NEED TO KNOW

16 people found this review helpful

Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (3)

Diana of Leland, NC Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 28, 2022

I have been calling & calling and you can't reach anyone and after 2 hours of holding they transfer you and again you're on hold for hours. No one cares and it has been a horrific experience. I was approved for a refund but the company will not send it even after I received a letter stating I was approved for a refund. I would never used this company again nor will I ever recommend them.

Overseas Adventure Travel response

We are sorry about the unusually long hold times. We’re working through these communication and high call volume issues as quickly as possible.

Please contact us at request@oattravel.com if you still need assistance. Thank you for your patience!

12 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (4)

Alice of Bristol, TN Verified Reviewer

(Video) Solo vs Group Travel | Is It Worth Paying for an Organized Tour Service?

Original review: June 22, 2022

We have not been able to get through on the phone to OAT to correct the incorrect flight information. We have waited up to 2 hours many times. We have sent in requests to cancel our trip and can't get our $700 deposit back. We are very disappointed in the amount of time we have given them to straightened out their problems. WE have been dealing with this since March of this year, for a trip that we scheduled for Oct.

11 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (5)

Christine of Ventura, CA Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 22, 2022

I have traveled with OAT numerous times, mostly without problems. However, current conditions are horrendous. I've spent hours on the phone trying to resolve problems with a reservation I made 3 months ago. Hold times are often over an hour. Most recently, I asked to speak with a supervisor. I was placed on hold for about 10 minutes, after which the representative said no supervisors were available, and someone would call me back. It has been over 24 hours with no call-back. I'm sure supervisors were available at least some of that time. Now I've been on hold for 20 minutes, so I decided to check reviews. ALL of the recent reviews are negative, many with comments about being unable to contact the company. Customer Service used to be excellent. Not any more.

18 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (6)

Charlotte of Lakewood, OH Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 21, 2022

We reserved two places on OAT's Portugal/Spain trip for September 2022. We received an email informing us that OAT/GCT had cancelled the trip. We have not gotten a REFUND - but only a credit toward some future trip. We have tried multiple times to reach OAT/GCT and have waited on hold for hours with no human available. We need a refund - and do not want OAT holding our money for some future trip we may never take. Please help us! Thank you.

Overseas Adventure Travel response

We are sorry about the unusually long hold times. We’re working through these communication and high call volume issues as quickly as possible.

Please contact us at request@oattravel.com if you still need assistance. Thank you.

(Video) 5 Things American Tourists Shouldn't Wear in Europe

12 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (7)

D of Fredericksburg, VA Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 10, 2022

Denise, I was surprised to hear that O.A.T. is also not refunding your money. I booked with their sister/brother (?) company, Vantage, over a year ago. The trip was a high-end Mediterranean cruise, but they couldn't get the ship in time for a June 8 departure because it was coming from China. I have spent the past two months trying to get my money back. When I can reach anyone, they keep saying it's "in process" while not giving me a timeline. I've been looking at several O.A.T. opportunities. I traveled with them several years ago on five different occasions and was happy with the company, but I'm very concerned about booking with them at this point. Promises of refunds are empty!

15 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (8)

E of Silver Spring, MD Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 7, 2022

Like many of the other reviews, I experienced a three hour wait only to be kicked off. Why force someone to be on hold that long without providing any reassurances that someone will really call you back? Why not provide a call back option? This kind of treatment is not conducive to building customer loyalty. Given this poor service, I would rather pay more and have my issue handled than listen to their boring music.

18 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (9)

(Video) Can adventure travel change you? | Michelle Spinei | TEDxReykjavik

John of Silver Spring, MD Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 3, 2022

We have been trying to take a trip that was booked over two years ago that has been rescheduled twice due to cancellations by this company. Our trip to Iceland is scheduled in July but we have a family emergency and needed to speak with a representative about our options to reschedule. I have waited on the phone multiple times for hours, sent numerous emails to customer service and received ZERO response for over a week. Amazingly, after pressing the “make a payment number” on my phone I got a rep within a few minutes.

I will never use this company again and do not recommend them no matter how nice their travel brochures look. They are in a service business…right? No they are in the take your money and FU business. It is absolutely inexcusable how they treat their customers, especially given the substantial investment we have made in their so called “personalized small group adventure.” Buyer Beware!

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (10)

21 people found this review helpful

Top 177 Overseas Adventure Travel Reviews (11)

Denise of Albuquerque, NM Verified Reviewer

Original review: May 27, 2022

No communication, even after group trip cancelled for May 2022. This company sucks, and I will never book with them or any of their associates ever again. I had two other trips cancelled which were both resolved within 10 minutes on hold. After 3 hrs, 15 min on hold with OAT, I was cancelled and told I'd receive a call back within 72 hours. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me. NEVER AGAIN for all OAT, Great Circle, etc.

Overseas Adventure Travel response

We are sorry about the unusually long hold times. We’re working through these communication and high call volume issues as quickly as possible.

Please contact us at request@oattravel.com if you still need assistance. Thank you.

13 people found this review helpful

(Video) Why Get South Dakota Residency ( for US Citizens)

FAQs

How do I cancel an OAT trip? ›

8. CANCELLATIONS AND REFUNDS. a) If you must cancel your trip, you may do so by calling 1-800-221-0814, by selecting the “contact us” link on our website www.oattravel.com,, or by letter.

How do I contact oat? ›

If you prefer more or less time than what we've provided you, please contact us at 1-800-221-0814 to speak to an Air Service Counselor. Can I earn Frequent Flyer miles on my O.A.T.

What is adventure tourism expert? ›

Adventure travel specialists develop, plan, and lead people on tours of places and activities that are unfamiliar to them. Most adventure travel trips involve physical participation and/or a form of environmental education.

Is Overseas Adventure travel still in business? ›

Founded in 1978, Overseas Adventure Travel specializes in small group and small ship adventure tours. Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) is now part of the Boston-based Grand Circle Corporation, which also includes Grand Circle Travel and Grand Circle Cruise Line.

How do I contact overseas adventure travel? ›

Call us toll-free at 1-800-353-6262 for more details.

Videos

1. How to Survive Flying Emirates Economy Class (Top Tips)
(Sam Chui)
2. Where to Travel ALONE for the FIRST TIME (10 Best Countries)
(Be My Travel Muse)
3. Rick Steves Egypt: Yesterday and Today
(Rick Steves' Europe)
4. Top 7 INCREDIBLE Travel Destinations of 2022 | Where to Travel This Year!
(Erik Conover)
5. What NOT to do in ITALY - DON'Ts of Italy [Travel Guide]
(Hungry Passport)
6. Where Solo Female Travelers SHOULD NOT Travel | Travel Chat Thursday
(Kita the Explorer)

Top Articles

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Melvina Ondricka

Last Updated: 11/09/2022

Views: 5481

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 95% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Melvina Ondricka

Birthday: 2000-12-23

Address: Suite 382 139 Shaniqua Locks, Paulaborough, UT 90498

Phone: +636383657021

Job: Dynamic Government Specialist

Hobby: Kite flying, Watching movies, Knitting, Model building, Reading, Wood carving, Paintball

Introduction: My name is Melvina Ondricka, I am a helpful, fancy, friendly, innocent, outstanding, courageous, thoughtful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.